Kids vs. Family Albums

I’ve been mulling over what to do about albums for Miss A.  Although it’s a long way off (I hope), some day she’ll be moving out on her own and will want some pictures of her childhood.   I don’t want to send all my scrapbooks with her when she goes, but I’d love to be able to give her a few books. 

I’ve been thinking and googling, and I’ve seen many people suggest what I’m going to do – starting an album that’s hers and not a “family” album.  My plan is to do one or two pages for each month – picking the best pictures or ones with the most meaning, and including them.  It’s essentially what I did when I went back and raided my parents’ photo albums to create my own childhood scrapbook.   I figure I can keep it condensed enough to fit 5 years or more in one binder, then she won’t be taking mountains of albums with her. 

I hope that when she’s older, she’ll want to get involved in scrapbooking too, and then she can add to her own albums.  Whether or not she does, I plan on having her contribute something to our family albums so that I always have something of her in those books.  I love the idea of having her do some journaling to get her perspective on a photo, or doing a Q&A or list card that she fills out.

And yes, it’s somewhat overkill to be thinking about sending her away to university or out into the world when she’s just turning three, but I figure if it’s a project I work on in conjunction with my albums, it’ll stay relatively up-to-date and won’t require a lot of extra work . 

Leave a comment